Juicing Day One: Beets Are Awful

Grapefruit Juice

So I couldn’t wait to start juicing once I got my juicer yesterday afternoon. I am now 24 hours into this little experiment of mine. And I’m tired and a little foggy.

I must first admit that I do work strange hours most days — 5 a.m. to 9 a.m. So I’m tired and foggy a lot of the time. But today, after walking in my room eating my small vegetable and grain meal (as suggested by the Food Matters plan) I immediately fell asleep on my bumpy futon. After doing some reading, feeling like this seems like normal fare.

Let’s just say I’m ready to get used to juicing and benefit from all the clarity I keep hearing about.

Also, I learned this morning that I cannot stand the taste of beets. I promise I’m not a complainer but I couldn’t force myself to finish the beautiful fuchsia juice. I am ready for an alternative breakfast juice for tomorrow! I’m thinking something with an apple and some spinach?

Before I go back to dreaming up new juice ideas, I thought I’d send you to one of my new foodie pals blog, 20 Something Wannabe Vegan. She’s on a similar journey of taking better care of these bodies that have been given to us. You should go and give her a pat on the back! It’s a big step. Believe me, I know.

Hugs and high fives,
WHIT


4 comments

  1. Thanks for the shout out. Also, don’t give up on the beets. I look up a lot of recipes online or in juicing books to see the juices that have already passed the taste test. Carrots, apples, and ginger are really great for toning down the strong taste of the beets. Keep it up!! You’re doing so great!

    • And thank you for yours! I will try not to give up on them. After some reading, I found out it’s better to cut the skin off, which I didn’t the first time around. Lesson learned. And you keep on keeping on too!

  2. I’m on Day 9 of a juice fast, and I can tell you I hate the taste of beets in my juice as well. No matter what I do it doesn’t work.

    Which is strange, because I actually love eating beets. So you’re not the only one. 🙂


Leave a comment